Series: Moana Oceania
Title: Cook Islands Kūki ‘Airani
Author: Jean Tekura Mason
ISBN: 978-1-99-004221-8
RRP: $29.99
Specs: 230 x 170 mm portrait, PB, 48 pp, colour
Published: 15 February 2023

Aimed at readers 8+ but valuable for anyone with an interest in our Pacific kopu tangata (family), this is one of two inaugural books in the Moana Oceania series created by Oratia Books’ Editorial Director, Carolyn Lagahetau.

Cook Islands children in New Zealand can see themselves reflected in this book, and all readers can learn about life and nature in this part of the Pacific.

Cook Islands – Kūki ‘Airini sets out the seven interconnected pillars that guide Cook Islands life, such as kauraro (respect and obedience to elders) and ‘aka’aka (humility and dignity). There are also sections on education, language, history, environment, art, sport and celebrations — and an exploration of how Cook Islanders in Aotearoa maintain and adapt their culture.

Written in Cook Islands Māori and English by noted author Jean TeKura Mason, the book is illustrated with colour photographs throughout, and numerous pull-out boxes of information make the text easy to access.